Stuff I Know

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Change unreadable dark blue text in Cygwin

I use rxvt as my default Cygwin terminal with the following properties on the Windows shortcut:

C:\cygwin\bin\rxvt.exe -sl 1500 -fn "Lucida Console-14" -bg black -fg grey -sr -e C:\cygwin\bin\bash.exe --login -i

The blue text used for directories has always been too dark to read comfortably. I finally had enough and figured out what needs to be changed to make the dark blue, light blue:

In your .Xdefaults file (if you had one already or not), add the following:

rxvt*color4: SteelBlue1
rxvt*color12: SteelBlue1

Start a new cygwin rxvt terminal and try it out.

I also found this effects the dark blue comments when using vi.

Cheers

Now for some key words since I had a hard time stumbling across the answer with my Googling: cygwin text to dark, dark blue, unreadable blue, change blue text, change blue folders, change dir colors

June 2, 2015 Posted by | Uncategorized | | Leave a comment